Legislative and Production Update

On July 1, the SC Film Commission was awarded $15M in non-recurring funds. Since that time there have been four feature films scouting in South Carolina. ONE TRUE LOVES is presently focused on Summerville, North Charleston, and Moncks Corner. They are in pre-production now. Filming dates are October 4 through November 19. Crew members can send their resumes to info@volition.media

A second production, SOUTHERN GOTHIC has picked Union, SC as its location, and should submit application this week. They were scheduled for November shoot, but the Producer may move to January due to talent availability. Should have an email address for crew soon that we will share.

Miramax has a Tier 2 feature film, HARVEST MOON looking to shoot in the Charleston area October 11 thru Nov. 19. Pre-Pro starts mid-September. They want to do some scouting before committing.

An ongoing problem is experienced crew availability for new features coming in. CFA and our lobbyists are working on ways to facilitate a solution. One possibility is to go after some ARPA funds for workforce development. Funds would go to SC Film Commission’s Indie Grants program for Technical Workshops to help recruit and instruct new crew for the film industry, especially from Trident Tech.

Work continues with House and Senate leaders and their staff to codify our provisos and write a new Film Incentives Bill that would double the rebates now available. This Bill has already been filed by Rep. Weston J. Newton of Bluffton. Increasing rebates must be done methodically, and not so fast that the crew base can’t keep up.

In the meantime, it is crucial that crew REGISTER with the SC Film Commission https://sc.reel-scout.com/crew_login.aspx. Producers look at our listings on this website for Crew and Resources, and that’s were Miramax got my name.

Your CFA Board of Directors works for you:
Linda Lee, President
Missy Ricker, Vice President
Matt Sefick, Secretary
BettyLynn Allison, Treasurer
JC Davis Baglio
Linda Eisen
Robert Hopkins
Dan Jones
Tommy Melton
Harrison Palmer
Marty Bluford